Erosion Control March/April 2017 : Page 4

CONTENTS FEATURES March/April 2017 Vol. 24, No. 2 8 16 Insights From the Journey By Michael V. Harding The Science of Seeds Experimentation produces the right combinations of soil amendments and seed mixes. By Barbara Hesselgrave 8 16 24 29 36 42 48 Parting the Waters Cofferdams provide dry work spaces. By Margaret Buranen The Right Size for the Job Compact equipment for erosion control tasks By Roberta Baxter Changing Land Surfaces With Retaining Walls By Linda Robinson 24 36 On the Ground and Underground Geosynthetics shore up progress. By David C. Richardson Inlet and Storm Drain Protection Temporary and long-term defense By Carol Brzozowski 29 DEPARTMENTS 6 52 53 56 Editor’s Comments 57 Marketplace ShowCase 57 Advertiser’s Index Spotlight 58 Reader Profile Product & Services Directory Cover photo: CDI 48 SIGN UP FOR YOUR FREE SUBSCRIPTION Go online for new subscriptions, renewals, or change of address: www.cdsreportnow.com/renew/now?ecm Scan this code with your smartphone: Editor Production Editor Managing Production Editor Web Editor Webmaster Managing Editor IT/Online Support Director of Online Media & IT Group Editor Brand Managers Janice Kaspersen jkaspersen@forester.net Olivia Davi Brianna Duncan David Rachford Nadia English nenglish@forester.net Arturo Santiago Steven Grimaud John Richardson John Trotti jtrotti@forester.net Henry Waldman, Nick Pedersen Senior Brand Managers Sales & Marketing Coordinator Senior Designer Production Manager Art Director Audience Development Director Marketing Communications Manager Product Marketing Manager, Education & Training Mark Gersten, Geoff Solo, Eileen Duarte Tessia Potuzak Deja Hsu Doug Mlyn Judith Geiger Steven Wayner swayner@forester.net Jason Spruit jspruit@forester.net Emily Shine eshine@forester.net Conference Sales & Marketing Conference Director Accountant / Chair, Love and Happiness Committee AR / AP Finance & HR Manager Publisher Brigette Burich Scott Nania snania@forester.net Courtney Keele Keith Rodgers John Pasini jpasini@forester.net Daniel Waldman dw@forester.net EROSION CONTROL (ISSN 1073-7227) is published seven times a year by Forester Media Inc., 2946 De la Vina Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93105, 805-682-1300, fax 805-682-0200, e-mail address: publisher@forester.net , website: www.foresternetwork.com. Periodical postage paid at Santa Barbara, CA, and additional mailing offices. All rights reserved. No part of this publication may be reproduced in any form without written permission from the publisher. Entire contents ©2017 by Forester Media Inc. POSTMASTER: Send address changes to Erosion Control , 440 Quadrangle Drive Ste E, Bolingbrook, IL 60440. Change of address notices also may be completed online at www.cdsreportnow.com/renew/now?ecm or mailed to 440 Quadrangle Drive Ste E, Bolingbrook, IL 60440; provide old mailing label as well as new address, include zip code or postal code. Allow two months for change. Editorial contributions are welcome. All material must be accompanied by stamped return envelopes and will be handled with reasonable care. However, publishers assume no responsibility for safety of art work, photographs, or manuscripts. Every precaution is taken to ensure accuracy, but the publishers cannot accept responsibility for the correctness or accuracy of information supplied herein or for any opinion expressed. Subscription Rates: seven issues of Erosion Control are $76 per year in US ($95 in Canada, $160 elsewhere). Send the completed subscription card with a check to Erosion Control , 440 Quadrangle Drive Ste E, Bolingbrook, IL 60440, or fax with credit card info to 616-891-5669. Reprints : All editorial material in Erosion Control is available for reprints. Call 805-679-7604 or e-mail reprints@forester.net for additional information. List Rentals: 1-800-529-9020 ext. 5003, dfoster@inforefinery.com . Articles appearing in this journal are indexed in Environmental Periodicals Bibliography. Back issues may be ordered (depending on available inventory) for $15 per copy in US ($20 in Canada, $35 elsewhere). Send written requests for back issues along with check or money order in US funds payable to Erosion Control , PO Box 3100, Santa Barbara, CA 93130, USA. Provide address for where the copies should be shipped. Allow six weeks for delivery. 4 EROSION CONTROL WWW.EROSIONCONTROL.COM

Previous Page  Next Page


Publication List
Using a screen reader? Click Here